Shadowed Hearts

I wake up to your beautiful face every morning and it almost brings me to tears. Every time I see your eyes I can’t help but think back to when we first met.

You were always happy back then, like a flower always in bloom. It was impressive how you managed to bring a smile to everyone’s face without even trying, I guess that’s what caught my attention. Everything felt so natural, our conversations flowed like a stream and our hands went together like lock and key. There was no avoiding the spark between us, we were meant to be together.

I’d heard so many vivid descriptions of love, but I didn’t truly get them until I held you in my arms. Every hug was a tornado, every kiss was an earthquake. Never had I felt such a thing, the flames of our passion blinded our eyes and cast shadows on our hearts. We were one in the darkness, solace in the silence. I still thank god for letting me experience something so powerful. I prayed it’d never end.

I was so in love with you that I didn’t notice you were changing. The smile had faded, the flower had wilted. You could barely make yourself smile, much less give one to others. Our conversations became shorter, the stream had dried up. Our hands didn’t join anymore, the lock rusted. I didn’t notice any of it until it couldn’t be fixed. The flame that once blinded us became embers. Though our eyes were clear, we were still united by the shadows over our hearts. So, we never let go.

I wake up to your beautiful face and see the woman I fell in love with. Then I realize; even though you’re so close to me, you’ve never been further. I look into your eyes and think back to when we first met and wonder where it all started to go wrong. One day the shadow that joins our hearts will fade, and I’ll lose you forever. But I know I’ll be fine without you, that’s what saddens me the most.

Leave a comment